Show Author >

F1 British GP - Silverstone Circuit

British GP: This year, the premier class of motorsport, Formula 1, makes a guest appearance at its original circuit at Silverstone from July 7 to 9. A week earlier, the Formula 1 drivers competed in Spielberg-Austria. After the highlight at Silverstone, the Hungaroring in Budapest will be the next race.

British GP - The Silverstone Circuit

The Silverstone Grand Prix is one of the most famous and traditional motorsport events in the world. The history of this world-famous race dates back to the early days of Formula One racing.

The first British Grand Prix took place in 1950 and was held at Silverstone Circuit in Northamptonshire. The race was intended to be part of the Formula One World Championship, which was launched in the same year. At the time, the Silverstone circuit was a former military airfield that had been converted for motorsport purposes.

In the early years, races were held on a longer version of the course that covered almost the entire length of the airfield. But over time, various changes were made to the course to improve safety and allow for more exciting racing. Today's Silverstone circuit is a fast and challenging course with a distance of 5.891 km.

Silverstone today - the F1 season highlight

Today, the Silverstone Circuit is one of the absolute highlights of the Formula 1 season.

Over 52 laps totaling 306.3 kilometers, the high-tech racers whiz past the spectators. Up to 135,000 spectators can sit in the grandstands and watch the spectacle.

The fastest lap during the race, i.e. the lap record, is held by Max Verstappen on his Red Bull with a time of 1:27.097.

History of the Silverstone GP's

Over the past few decades, the Silverstone Grand Prix has been held regularly, with the race often providing thrilling duels and dramatic moments. Names such as Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart, Nigel Mansell and Lewis Hamilton are closely associated with the race at Silverstone, having scored several victories there and continuing the British racing tradition.

In 2010, the Silverstone Grand Prix underwent a major transformation when the circuit underwent extensive renovations. The renovation included the redesign of the pit areas, the start and finish straight, and several corners to meet the demands of modern Formula One cars.

The Silverstone Grand Prix has remained a staple of the Formula One calendar and is still a highlight of the racing season after more than seven decades.

In 2020, the anniversary was then celebrated - the 70th birthday of the Silverstone Grand Prix. This special event was honored with a special race to counteract the numerous race cancellations due to the Corona pandemic in the racing calendar. To comply with regulations that only one Formula One race per country be held each year, the second race was given a unique name - 70th Anniversary Grand Prix.

By the way, Silverstone and Monza are the only F1 circuits that have consistently hosted Formula One races since 1950!


The winners of the Silverstone GP's/British GP

2023Max VerstappenRed Bull
2022Carlos Sainz jr.Ferrari
2021Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2020Max VerstappenRed Bull
2020Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2018Sebastian VettelFerrari
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2013Nico RosbergMercedes
2012Mark WebberRed Bull Renault
2011Fernando AlonsoFerrari
2010Mark WebberRed Bull Renault
2009Sebastian VettelRed Bull Renault
2008Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2007Kimi RäikkönenFerrari
2006Fernando AlonsoRenault
2005Juan Pablo MontoyaMcLaren Mercedes
2004Michael SchumacherFerrari
2003Rubens BarrichelloFerrari
2002Michael SchumacherFerrari
2001Mika HäkkinenMcLaren Mercedes
2000David CoulthardMcLaren Mercedes
1999David CoulthardMcLaren Mercedes
1998Michael SchumacherFerrari
1997Jacques VilleneuveWilliams Renault
1996Jacques VilleneuveWilliams Renault
1995Johnny HerbertBenetton Renault
1994Damon HillWilliams Renault
1993Alain ProstWilliams Renault
1992Nigel MansellWilliams Renault
1991Nigel MansellWilliams Renault
1990Alain ProstFerrari
1989Alain ProstMcLaren Honda
1988Ayrton SennaMcLaren Honda
1987Nigel MansellWilliams Honda
1985Alain ProstMcLaren Porsche
1983Alain ProstRenault
1981John WatsonMcLaren Ford
1979Clay RegazzoniWilliams Ford
1977James HuntMcLaren Ford
1975Emerson FittipaldiMcLaren Ford
1973Peter RevsonMcLaren Ford
1971Jackie StewartTyrrell Ford
1969Jackie StewartMatra Ford
1967Jim ClarkLotus Climax
1965Jim ClarkLotus Climax
1963Jim ClarkLotus Climax
1960Jack BrabhamCooper Climax
1958Peter CollinsFerrari
1956Juan Manuel FangioFerrari
1954José Froilán GonzálezFerrari
1953Alberto AscariFerrari
1952Alberto AscariFerrari
1951José Froilán GonzálezFerrari
1950Giuseppe FarinaAlfa Romeo

Experience all the exciting moments of Formula 1 for free on TV

You can watch the complete Formula 1 season for free with VPN. This great option not only gives you the chance to watch every race live, but also saves you a considerable amount of money. I myself have been using this method for several years and since then I have not missed a single race due to transmission problems.

By: Michael Miller
Michael is the CEO of VPN Online, one of the fastest-growing media companies in the cyber-security space. VPN Online was started in 2019 after Michael consulted with many Fortune 500 companies and saw the lack of understanding about cybersecurity many of their employees had.