Show Author >

The Brazilian Grand Prix - Sao Paolo

The Brazil GP (Brazilian Grand Prix), also known as the São Paulo Grand Prix, will be held on November 5, 2023. It is the race immediately following the Mexico Grand Prix. After Brazil, Formula One goes to the USA for the Las Vegas Grand Prix.

The track of the São Paulo GP

The Autódromo José Carlos Pace in São Paulo, Brazil is also known as the Interlagos Circuit, as it is located in the Interlagos neighborhood.

The Autódromo José Carlos Pace has a length of 4.309 kilometers and consists of 15 turns. The track offers drivers a mixture of fast straights and technically challenging corners. It is known for its elevation changes and the nature of the track surface.

The most distinctive feature of the track is the long start-finish straight, where high speeds can be reached. The first turn, known as the Senna turn, is a tight right turn named after the legendary Brazilian racing driver. It represents a key passage that is often used for overtaking maneuvers.

Other challenging corners on the circuit include the Descida do Lago, a descending corner that leads into a tight chicane, and the Junção, a tight right turn that leads into a long straight. The Bico de Pato (Duck's Beak) is another famous turn, a tight hairpin that requires skill and braking ability.

Weather conditions at the São Paulo GP circuit can be changeable. Downpours are frequent, which can make the race unpredictable. This often leads to tactical decisions by teams regarding tire choice and makes for exciting racing moments.

The total race distance is 71 laps, making the total distance just under 306 kilometers.

The past of the São Paulo Grand Prix

The São Paulo Grand Prix, also known as the Brazilian Grand Prix, has a long and fascinating history in the world of motorsport. The race is held at the Autódromo José Carlos Pace, a racetrack in the city of São Paulo, Brazil.

The history of the São Paulo Grand Prix dates back to 1972, when the race was first held as part of the Formula One World Championship. The track was named after Brazilian racing driver José Carlos Pace, who tragically died in a plane crash in 1977.

The race has produced many exciting moments and legendary drivers over the years. One of the most notable is Brazilian driver Ayrton Senna, who won the São Paulo Grand Prix a total of three times. Senna is often associated with the São Paulo race and to this day remains an idol for many Brazilians, as well as motorsports fans around the world.

The São Paulo Grand Prix circuit is known for its challenges and peculiarities. With its fast straights and tight corners, it offers drivers a demanding and exciting ride.

Winners of the Brazilian Grand Prix

There have been many winners throughout the history of the Brazilian Grand Prix. Here are some of the most prominent drivers who have won the race:

  1. Alain Prost: French driver Alain Prost is the record winner of the Brazilian Grand Prix. He has won the race a total of six times. His victories were achieved in 1982, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988 and 1990.
  2. Ayrton Senna: Brazilian driver Ayrton Senna is one of the most popular and successful racing drivers of all time. He won the Brazilian Grand Prix a total of three times. His victories were achieved in 1991, 1993 and 1994.
  3. Michael Schumacher: German racing driver Michael Schumacher is a legend of the sport and has set many records during his career. He won the Brazilian Grand Prix twice. His victories were achieved in 1994 and 2000.
  4. Lewis Hamilton: British driver Lewis Hamilton, one of the most successful Formula 1 drivers in history, has also claimed several victories in the Brazilian Grand Prix. He has won the race a total of four times, in 2008, 2014, 2015 and 2019.

Street records at the Brazilian Grand Prix

There are several records that have been set over the years at the Brazilian Grand Prix. The lap record was set by Valtteri Bottas of Finland, who achieved a time of 1:10.540 minutes in his Mercedes in 2018. The record for the fastest lap was also set in 2018 and is 1:07.281 minutes. That record belongs to Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain, who also drove in a Mercedes.

The record for the most wins at the Brazilian Grand Prix is held by Frenchman Alain Prost. He has won the race a total of six times, making him the most successful driver in the history of the race.

In terms of pole positions, Brazilian driver Ayrton Senna has set the most records. He secured six pole positions at the Brazilian Grand Prix, making him the record holder in this category.

Watch all Formula One races online for free without pay TV

With a little trick you can stream all Formula One races live online for free and without a pay-TV subscription. That way I watch other sporting events and save myself a lot of money.

By: Michael Miller
Michael is the CEO of VPN Online, one of the fastest-growing media companies in the cyber-security space. VPN Online was started in 2019 after Michael consulted with many Fortune 500 companies and saw the lack of understanding about cybersecurity many of their employees had.