Show Author >

The Austin Grand Prix - USA

On the weekend of 20.10.2023 to 22.10.2023, Formula 1 makes a repeat guest appearance in the USA, at the Austin Grand Prix. The race in Austin follows the Qatar Grand Prix, before moving on to the Mexican Grand Prix. The USA is always a good place for spectacular car races. The fact that a second USA F1 Grand Prix is now taking place in Las Vegas is probably an attack on the potential revenue opportunities in the land of superlatives.

Formula 1Race in the USA

Austin Grand Prix: Facts about the USA Grand Prix - Austin

The United States Grand Prix is held in the United States and is one of the most famous and prestigious motorsport events in the world. Here is some important information about the United States Grand Prix.

During history, various venues have been used for the United States Grand Prix. Examples include the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, and the Watkins Glen International Circuit in New York.

First Race: The first U.S. Grand Prix was held on September 12, 1959, at Sebring International Raceway in Florida. The race was won by Bruce McLaren in the Cooper-Climax.

From 1950 to 1960, the U.S. Grand Prix race was held concurrently with the famed Indianapolis 500.

Retreatment and resumption: after 1960, the U.S. Grand Prix was temporarily dropped from the Formula One calendar. It was not until 1961 that the race was resumed, and from then on it was held at various tracks.

Race track in Austin: Since 2012, the U.S. Grand Prix has been held at the Circuit of the Americas (COTA) in Austin, Texas. The modernly designed track offers exciting racing and attracts thousands of spectators each year.

Record winner: Michael Schumacher holds the record for most wins at the U.S. Grand Prix. He has won the race a total of five times, including four times in Indianapolis and once in Austin.

Because of the race's position on the calendar, the U.S. Grand Prix has often played an important role in the battle for the world title. Crucial points were scored here to win or defend the title.

Many winners: over the years, various drivers have won the U.S. Grand Prix, including household names such as Ayrton Senna, Alain Prost, Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen and many others.

The track at the Austin Grand Prix

The Circuit of The Americas (COTA) is the race track where the U.S. Grand Prix has been held in Austin since 2012.

Construction and opening: the Circuit of The Americas was built specifically for Formula 1 and other international racing series. Design and construction work began in 2010, and the circuit officially opened on October 21, 2012.

The track has a length of 5.513 kilometers and includes 20 turns. It was also designed by German race track architect Hermann Tilke. The course is characterized by a mixture of fast straights, technically challenging turns and elevation changes.

In addition to the Formula One U.S. Grand Prix, the Circuit of The Americas has hosted other racing series and events. These include MotoGP, the IMSA Weather Tech Sports Car Championship American sports car race, and the Pirelli World Challenge American touring car race.

The Circuit of The Americas places high demands on drivers. The track features fast corners, tight chicanes and challenging braking points.

The winners of the USA Grand Prix

2021Max Verstappen (Red Bull-Honda)Austin
2020No US Grand Prix due to Covid 19Austin
2019Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)Austin
2018Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrrari)Austin
2017Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)Austin
2016Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)Austin
2015Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)Austin
2014Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)Austin
2013Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)Austin
2012Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)Austin
2011 - 2008cancelled-
2007Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)Indianapolis
2006Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)Indianapolis
2005Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)Indianapolis
2004Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)Indianapolis
2003Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)Indianapolis
2002Rubens Barrichello (Ferrari)Indianapolis
2001Mika Häkkinen (McLaren-Mercedes)Indianapolis
2000Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)Indianapolis
1999 - 1992cancelled-
1991Ayrton Senna (McLaren-Honda)Phoenix
1990Ayrton Senna (McLaren-Honda)Phoenix
1989Alain Prost (McLaren-Honda)Phoenix
1988Ayrton Senna (McLaren-Honda)Detroit
1987Ayrton Senna (Lotus-Honda)Detroit
1986Ayrton Senna (Lotus-Renault)Detroit
1985Keke Rosberg (Williams-Honda)Detroit
1984Keke Rosberg (Williams-Honda)Dallas
1983John Watson (McLaren-Ford)Long Beach
1982Niki Lauda (McLaren-Ford)Long Beach
1981Alan Jones (Williams-Ford)Long Beach
1980Nelson Piquet (Brabham-Ford)Long Beach
1979Gilles Villeneuve (Ferrari)Long Beach
1978Carlos Reutemann (Ferrari)Long Beach
1977Mario Andretti (Lotus-Ford)Long Beach
1976Clay Regazzoni (Ferrari)Long Beach
1975Niki Lauda (Ferrari)Watkins Glen
1974Carlos Reutemann (Brabham-Ford)Watkins Glen
1973Ronnie Peterson (Lotus-Ford)Watkins Glen
1972Jackie Stewart (Tyrrell-Ford)Watkins Glen
1971François Cevert (Tyrrell-Ford)Watkins Glen
1970Emerson Fittipaldi (Lotus-Ford)Watkins Glen
1969Jochen Rindt (Lotus-Ford)Watkins Glen
1968Jackie Stewart (Matra-Ford)Watkins Glen
1967Jim Clark (Lotus-Ford)Watkins Glen
1966Jim Clark (Lotus-B.R.M.)Watkins Glen
1965Graham Hill (B.R.M.)Watkins Glen
1964Graham Hill (B.R.M.)Watkins Glen
1963Graham Hill (B.R.M.)Watkins Glen
1962Jim Clark (Lotus-Climax)Watkins Glen
1961Innes Ireland (Lotus-Climax)Watkins Glen
1960Stirling Moss (Lotus-Climax)Riverside
1959Bruce McLaren (Cooper-Climax)Sebring
1958Chuck Daigh (Scarab-Chevrolet)Riverside

Formula 1 stream live and free

This way you can watch all Formula 1 races for free without paying TV fees. You can see exactly how live streaming of Formula 1 races works from our article.

By: Michael Miller
Michael is the CEO of VPN Online, one of the fastest-growing media companies in the cyber-security space. VPN Online was started in 2019 after Michael consulted with many Fortune 500 companies and saw the lack of understanding about cybersecurity many of their employees had.