Show Author >

The Belgian Grand Prix - Spa-Franchorchamps

Belgian Grand Prix: The Belgian Grand Prix has a long tradition and was first held in 1950 as part of the Formula One World Championship. Since then, the race has held a permanent position on the racing calendar and is often considered one of the highlights of the season.

What you should know about Spa

The Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps race track is famous for its challenging and breathtaking layout. With a length of about 7 kilometers, it is one of the longest tracks on the Formula One calendar.

One of the most famous and challenging sections on the circuit is Eau Rouge/Raidillon. It is a fast uphill turn followed by a sharp left-right combination that requires a lot of courage and precision from the drivers. Eau Rouge/Raidillon is considered one of the most spectacular corner combinations in motorsports.

Spa-Francorchamps is known for its changeable weather conditions. The circuit covers a hilly region and is often affected by rain, which can lead to difficult conditions for the drivers. This makes the Belgian Grand Prix an unpredictable and very exciting Formula One race.

When will the 2023 Belgian Grand Prix take place?

This year, the Belgian Grand Prix will be held from July 28 to 30. A week earlier, the Formula 1 teams made a guest appearance in Hungary / Budapest at the Hungaroring. After the Spa Grand Prix, the Formula 1 circus goes into a 3-week summer break. On August 25, it then goes in the Netherlands in Zandvoort - Circuit Park Zandvoort again on the track.

The Circuit Spa-Francochamps

Formula 1 enthusiasts are familiar with the best-known corners of the Circuit Spa-Francorchamps. There's Pouhon, La Source, Eau-Rouges, Les Combes and Blanchimont. In past years, these corners have challenged many a Formula One driver.

With a length of 7.004 kilometers, the Circuit Spa-Francorchamps is the longest track on the current Formula One calendar. As a result, the race comprises only 44 laps.

The Circuit Spa-Francorchamps, also known as Ardennes Rollercoaster, owes its nickname to the impressive height difference of about 100 meters and the many curves that generate high centrifugal forces.

The track consists of a total of 19 curves. Of these, 10 are left turns and 9 are right turns.

Since the year 1925, the Belgian Grand Prix has been held on this track, with some interruptions. Since the year 1950, the race has been part of the Formula One World Championship.

Best performances at the Circuit Spa-Francorchamps

The fastest ever lap record at Circuit Spa-Francorchamps (Belgian Grand Prix) was set during qualifying for the 2018 Belgian Grand Prix. The driver was Sebastian Vettel on Ferrari. He set a time of 1:41.501 minutes.

The highest speed ever recorded at the Circuit Spa-Francorchamps was in 2018. The driver was Valtteri Bottas, driving for Mercedes. He reached an impressive speed of 359.7 km/h on the Kemmel straight.

The record for the most wins by a driver at Circuit Spa-Francorchamps is six. This impressive feat was achieved by Michael Schumacher, who celebrated these victories in 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2001, and 2002.

The record for the most pole positions at the Circuit Spa-Francorchamps is seven pole positions. That record is shared by Ayrton Senna, Lewis Hamilton and Juan Manuel Fangio.

Circuit Spa-Franchorchamps/Belgian Grand Prix Winners

2022M. VerstappenRed Bull
2021M. VerstappenRed Bull / Honda
2020L. HamiltonMercedes-AMG / Mercedes
2019C. LeclercFerrari / Ferrari
2018S. VettelFerrari / Ferrari
2017L. HamiltonMercedes-AMG / Mercedes
2016N. RosbergMercedes-AMG / Mercedes
2015L. HamiltonMercedes-AMG / Mercedes
2014D. RicciardoRed Bull / Renault
2013S. VettelRed Bull / Renault
2012J. ButtonMcLaren / Mercedes
2011S. VettelRed Bull / Renault
2010L. HamiltonMcLaren / Mercedes
2009K. RäikkönenFerrari / Ferrari
2008F. MassaFerrari / Ferrari
2007K. RäikkönenFerrari / Ferrari
2005K. RäikkönenMcLaren / Mercedes
2004K. RäikkönenMcLaren / Mercedes
2002M. SchumacherFerrari / Ferrari
2001M. SchumacherFerrari / Ferrari
2000M. HäkkinenMcLaren / Mercedes
1999D. CoulthardMcLaren / Mercedes
1998D. HillJordan / Mugen-Honda
1997M. SchumacherFerrari / Ferrari
1996M. SchumacherFerrari / Ferrari
1995M. SchumacherBenetton / Renault
1994D. HillWilliams / Renault
1993D. HillWilliams / Renault
1992M. SchumacherBenetton / Ford
1991A. SennaMcLaren / Honda
1990A. SennaMcLaren / Honda
1989A. SennaMcLaren / Honda
1988A. SennaMcLaren / Honda
1987A. ProstMcLaren / TAG
1986N. MansellWilliams / Honda
1985A. SennaLotus / Renault
1983A. ProstRenault / Renault
1970P. RodriguezBRM / BRM
1968B. McLarenMcLaren / Ford
1967D. GurneyEagle / Weslake
1966J. SurteesFerrari / Ferrari
1965J. ClarkLotus / Climax
1964J. ClarkLotus / Climax
1963J. ClarkLotus / Climax
1962J. ClarkLotus / Climax
1961P. HillFerrari / Ferrari
1960J. BrabhamCooper / Climax
1958T. BrooksVanwall / Vanwall
1956P. CollinsFerrari / Ferrari
1955J. M. FangioMercedes / Mercedes
1954J. M. FangioMercedes / Mercedes
1953A. AscariFerrari / Ferrari
1952A. AscariFerrari / Ferrari
1951G. FarinaAlfa Romeo / Alfa Romeo
1950J. M. FangioAlfa Romeo / Alfa Romeo

Want to watch all the Formula 1 races live and for free?

Who doesn't want to? Read our post about it and follow the instructions and you can watch all F1 races for free. It's absolutely simple and also legal.

By: Michael Miller
Michael is the CEO of VPN Online, one of the fastest-growing media companies in the cyber-security space. VPN Online was started in 2019 after Michael consulted with many Fortune 500 companies and saw the lack of understanding about cybersecurity many of their employees had.